Colour the Caribbean


Because I’m a cliché, I have an obsession with colouring and colouring books. It’s fun, it’s art with training wheels, because I haven’t drawn a thing in years. I needed an outlet and colouring books are it.

I’ve been dying to find books that are more my style, so fashion themes are a fave. As are pop culture, and abstract patterns. But what I really, want are books that are more representative of where I live, the Caribbean, and the type of woman I am, Black. So I made a list of Caribbean colouring books for all ages.

Some of the adult colouring books I own, will own soon (Amazon is processing the order), or would like to own. A few are no longer being printed, which is sad, but I have a thing for history, so I included them. I will separate my list of colouring books for children, from the list for adults.

Adult Colouring Books.

  • Escape Colouring Books. Jade Gedeon’s lovely series, book 4 is coming out in February, and I can’t wait, because I’ve been longing for a Carnival colouring book. I can’t wait to get my hands on it. I’ve finally ordered her first 2, and they are on their way. The reviews are amazing! The books are Island Escape, Rainforest Escape and Carnival Escape.
  • Dear:… A Healing Colouring Book: I literally harassed Danielle for her colouring book. Actually no, she was pregnant at the time, so we just spoke via Facebook messenger and I rushed over to Paper Based Bookshop in the nick of time to snag my copy. If she reprints the Wildflower Series Colouring Book I will get one because her illustrations are gorgeous.
  • James Hackett: It’s not out yet, but he says one is coming. I can’t wait.

Children’s Colouring Books

  • ZW Colouring Book: I discovered Zaidee Walker’s book randomly during a Sunday morning breakfast run to the San Antonio Green Market, which is right by me. Her drawings are simple, but the possibilities are endless. I bought 2. One for me, and gave the other to my co-worker’s daughter. It’s simply done, and you can probably beg her to produce a copy for you.
  • MacMillan’s Caribbean Colouring Books: The series still pops up, offering false hope, but the Caribbean Flowers book is out of print. The entire series seems to cater for a wide range of skills, like the Caribbean Carnivals book is suitable for a younger child but the Caribbean Flowers books seems more advanced.
  • Coloring Book of the Caribbean: is a Virgin Islands based book that may only be available via this website.
  • Traditional Carnival Characters of Trinidad and Tobago: I think that this book is out of print, but you may be able to contact them directly for a copy, or lead a groundswell of interest to justify  a reprint.

The problem in the Caribbean is single print runs, so books go out of print very quickly even though the interest has far outlasted supply. To be fair though, interest can be a slow burn. I blame that on insufficient marketing, but I digress.

Happy Caribbean colouring!

Save

2 thoughts on “Colour the Caribbean

Leave a Reply

